Many college football fans will not be too upset to see the Bowl Championship Series go, and a playoff system to determine the NCAA Division 1 national football champions go into effect.


College football will finally have a playoff, with the BCS gone after the 2013 season. A committee of university presidents on Tuesday approved the BCS commissioners’ plan for a four-team playoff to start in two years.

Lower divisions of college football have had playoffs for years to determine the championship. (Eastern Washington won a national championship in it’s division after the 2010 season)  Division 1 has relied on bowls and polls to determine who ended up in the championship game. Not any more.

Instead of  matching the nation’s No. 1 and No. 2 teams in a championship game after the regular season, the way the Bowl Championship Series has done since 1998, the new format will create a pair of national semifinals. No. 1 will play No. 4, and No. 2 will play No. 3. The sites of those games will rotate among the four current BCS games – Rose, Orange, Fiesta and Sugar – and two more to be determined.

The winners will advance to the championship.

The teams will be chosen by a committee, similar to the way the NCAA basketball tournament field is set.

Listen to Newstalk KIT here.