GLENDALE, Ariz. (AP) — The Associated Press handed out some hardware to honor the top players and coaches in men's and women's basketball.

Kansas point guard Frank Mason III has received the AP Player of the Year trophy. He averaged 20.9 points, 5.2 assists and 4.2 rebounds in helping his team finish 31-5. Mason is the first Jayhawk to win the award after garnering 37 votes, 21 more than runner-up Josh Hart of Villanova.

The University of Washington's Kelsey Plum is the women's Player of the Year and the first Husky to win the honor. Plum topped the NCAA scoring record with 3,498 points, including a 57-point eruption on senior night. The 5-foot-7 star received 30 votes Thursday from a 33-member national media panel.

The men's Coach of the Year is Mark Few, who guided Gonzaga to a 36-1 record and the school's first berth in the NCAA Final Four. Few is 502-112 with the Bulldogs, reaching the West Coast Tournament title game in each season. He received 31 votes compared to eight for runner-up Sean Miller of Arizona.

UConn's Geno Auriemma is The Associated Press' women's college basketball Coach of the Year for the ninth time. Auriemma has guided his team to an undefeated season so far and the Huskies have won 111 consecutive games overall. He claimed 26 of 33 votes, while runner-up Scott Rueck of Oregon State picked up three.

More From 1460 ESPN