(AP) — The WNBA playoffs open tonight with a pair of games showcasing the league's revamped playoff format.

First up will be the single elimination games as fifth-seeded Indiana hosts No. 8 Phoenix and seventh-seed Seattle is at No. 6 Atlanta. The second round begins Saturday with New York and Chicago waiting — and it will also be single elimination.

The eight teams with the best record qualified for the playoffs, regardless of conference affiliation. And they were seeded according to their record.

Los Angeles' Nneka Ogwumike was yesterday named the AP's WNBA Player of the Year, chosen by a media panel.