(AP) — The NHL has finalized plans for a 56-game season that will begin on Jan. 13.

The regular season is slated to end May 8 before a 16-team postseason that will run another two months.

Teams will be split into North, South, East and West divisions, with the North group consisting of the seven Canadian teams. All games will be intradivision matchups to minimize travel and the potential for the coronavirus to disrupt the season.

As far as the divisions, Boston, Buffalo, New Jersey, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Washington and the New York Islanders and Rangers are in the East; Carolina, Chicago, Columbus, Dallas, Detroit, Florida, Nashville and Tampa Bay are in the Central; and Arizona, Anaheim, Colorado, Los Angeles, Minnesota, St. Louis, San Jose and Vegas are in the West.

More From 1460 ESPN