World Series - Cleveland Indians v Chicago Cubs - Game Four
Getty Images

(AP) — The American and National League Cy Young awards have gone to a couple of hurlers who have won it before.

Indians ace Corey Kluber has won his second AL Cy Young Award after picking up 28 of 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Kluber led the majors with a 2.25 ERA and tied for the major league lead with 18 victories, three years after capturing the award.

Boston's Chris Sale finished second and Luis Severino of the New York Yankees was third.

Nationals pitcher Max Scherzer is the NL Cy Young Award winner for the second straight year after going 16-6 with a 2.51 ERA and a league-leading 268 strikeouts in 31 starts.

Scherzer received 27 of 30 first-place votes to easily outdistance Los Angeles Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw in the balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

It's the third Cy Young for Sherzer, who also claimed the American League honor in 2013.

More From 1460 ESPN