(AP) — Baseball's managers of the year have been announced, and they go to skippers who led their team to the postseason.

Cleveland's Terry Francona has won the American League Manager of the Year award after guiding the Indians to within one victory of their first World Series title since 1948. The Indians captured the AL Central despite injuries to outfielder Michael Brantley and two of their three top starting pitchers.

Francona received 22 of 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers' Association of America to outdistance runner-up Jeff Banister of Texas and Baltimore skipper Buck Showalter.

Dave Roberts is the National League Manager of the Year after guiding the Dodgers to a 91-71 record and the NL West title in his rookie season at the helm. He helped Los Angeles win its fourth straight division crown and a berth in the NLCS following a five-game victory over Washington in the division series.

Roberts received 16 first-place votes to beat out Joe Maddon of the World Series-champion Cubs and Washington's Dusty Baker for the award.

More From 1460 ESPN