The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission will again offer 12 free days next year, in which day-use visitors won’t need a Discover Pass to visit state parks by vehicle.

The “free days” for 2017 are in keeping with legislation that created the Discover Pass, a $30 annual or $10 one-day permit required on lands managed by Washington State Parks and the Washington departments of Natural Resources (DNR) and Fish & Wildlife (WDFW). The Discover Pass is still required to access lands managed by WDFW and DNR on these days.

Next year, State Parks will offer an autumn free day on Friday, Nov. 24, 2017, the day after Thanksgiving.
The 2017 State Parks free days are:

Jan. 1 (Sunday) First Day Hikes; New Year’s Day
Jan. 15-16 (Sunday-Monday) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
March 19 (Sunday) State Park’s 104th birthday
April 15 (Saturday) Springtime free day
April 22 (Saturday) Earth Day
June 3 (Saturday) National Trails Day
June 10 (Saturday) National Get Outdoors Day
Aug. 25 (Friday) National Park Service 101st Birthday
Sept. 30 (Saturday) National Public Lands Day
Nov. 11 (Saturday) Veterans Day
Nov. 24 (Friday) Autumn free day

For more information about the Discover Pass is here: www.discoverpass.wa.gov.