Here are just some of the notable sports moments that happened on June 23:

1894 — The International Olympic Committee was founded at the Sorbonne, Paris. (More info.)

1917 — After starting pitcher Babe Ruth was ejected for arguing with an umpire over a leadoff walk, Boston Red Sox relief pitcher Ernie Shore entered the game, caught the runner stealing and retired the next 26 batters for a perfect game. (More info.)

1922 — American Walter Hagen became the first U.S.-born player to win the British Open. (More info.)

1939 — Football great Bronko Nagurski defeated Lou Thesz in Houston for the National Wrestling Alliance title. (More info.)

1962 — Retired Cleveland Indians’ pitcher Larry Doby signed with the Chunichi Dragons in Japan, becoming the third former major leaguer (Wally Kaname Yonamine and Don Newcombe) to play there. (More info.)

1963 — New York Mets outfielder Jimmy Piersall hit his 100th career home run and celebrated by rounding the bases backwards. (More info.)

1967 — Jim Ryun of the University of Kansas set the world record for the one-mile run in 3:51.1. (More info.)

1969 — Joe Frazier scored a technical knockout of Jerry Quarry in the eighth round at New York’s Madison Square Garden. Ring magazine later named it ‘The Fight of the Year.’ (More info.)

1971 — Philadelphia Phillies’ pitcher Rick Wise no-hit the Cincinnati Reds, 4-0. (More info.)

1972 — Title IX, the federal law that fought sex discrimination by providing equal access to facilities and programs for women in high school and collegiate sports, was signed by President Richard M. Nixon. (More info.)

1973 — Philadelphia Phillies’ pitcher Ken Brett hit a home run in the fourth consecutive game in which he pitched. (More info.)

1985 —Laffit Pincay Jr became the second jockey in history (Bill Shoemaker) to win $100 million in purse earnings throughout his career. (More info.)

1988 — New franchises the Miami Heat and Charlotte Hornets respectively selected Arvid Kramer and Dell Curry as their first players in the NBA Expansion Draft. (More info.)

2005 — The San Antonio Spurs beat the Detroit Pistons, 81-74, in Game 7 of the NBA Finals to win their third NBA championship in seven years. (More info.)