NEW YORK (AP) — Boxer Claressa Shields and water polo goaltender Ashleigh Johnson have been honored as Sportswomen of the Year by the Women's Sports Foundation.

The Rio Olympics gold medalists won the awards Wednesday night at the foundation's annual dinner. Shields was given the individual honor, and Johnson won in the team competition.

Shields became the first U.S. boxer to win consecutive Olympic gold medals. Johnson had 51 saves in Rio, including nine in the gold-medal game.

Big East Commissioner Val Ackerman won the Billie Jean King Contribution Award. Pakistani pro squash player Maria Toorpakai Wazir, who moved to Canada after receiving death threats from the Taliban, earned the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award.

The Women's Sports Foundation, created by tennis great Billie Jean King in 1974, provides travel and training grants and community-based sports opportunities.