(AP) — Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey is The Associated Press college football player of the year. He's the first non-Heisman Trophy winner to earn the honor in six years.

McCaffrey was the runner-up for the Heisman Trophy to Derrick Henry, but received 29 of 60 votes from the AP Top 25 media panel to edge the Alabama running back.

Henry received 16 votes and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson was third with 11.

McCaffrey is the first Stanford player to win the award since it was first handed out in 1998.

He ran for 1,847 yards and eight touchdowns, caught a team-best 41 passes for 540 yards and four scores and averaged 28.9 yards per kickoff return with another score. He also threw two touchdown passes.